To spay or not to spay…

Standard

That’s is not necessarily the question, I firmly believe that your pet should be spayed or neutered!

Spaying a female dog eliminates the messiness associated with the heat cycle. Neutering of male dogs can prevent certain undesirable sexual behaviors, such as urine marking, humping, male aggression and the urge to roam. If you have more than one pet in your household, all the pets will generally get along better if they are neutered.

Long-term benefits of spaying and neutering is improved health for both cats and dogs. Spaying females prior to their first heat cycle nearly eliminates the risk of breast cancer and totally prevents uterine infections and uterine cancer. Neutering males prevents testicular cancer and enlargement of the prostate gland, and greatly reduces their risk for perianal tumors.

Although I don’t have an exact number, animals euthanized each year range between between 3 and 6 million just in the US alone! That’s staggering and climbing year after year!

If those aren’t enough reasons, I have no other arguments for why you should spay/neuter!

My question here is WHEN?!

I understand animal control, I’m with the shelters on that one! Just take a walk through a shelter to see how many made it to the adoption floor and think of how many didn’t!! I believe for every 1 that makes it, 4 are put down! I’m sure that is dependent on various factors!

There was a time when you could adopt an animal and return to have the surgery done when they were age appropriate, sometimes getting reimbursed part of the adoption fee as incentive.

Today I have to take my latest foster, Delilah, into the shelters spay/neuter clinic to see if she will be approved for spay surgery! Assumably, she will be 7 weeks old on Monday! Even though I am a foster parent who will adopt her and that I am a sure thing when it comes to spaying, Delilah must be spayed before her adoption can be official!

I’m aware that it may be safe to spay/neuter as early as 8 weeks old but I do NOT agree that it is the best time!!!

THOUGHTS???

About oschar83

???? I hate these things! I'm a bit fickle so it's hard to put in what is important! I love my husband, two kids and my dog! I coupon, garden, decorate, watch tv, like movies and walking my dog, sometimes, just doing absolutely nothing at all!

One response »

Leave a Reply

