Taking a break

Standard

On Monday, my husband and I will be boarding a plane to take a trip that we both have wanted to take for some time. The kids are grown, tuitions are paid and, thanks to the economy, vacations are cheaper than ever. This gives us the opportunity to travel out of the USA and to a country other than Mexico or Canada! For 8 days, we will be enjoying pubs, castles and, what I am dreaming are the most beautiful views you can imagine!


For as much enjoyment, relaxation and excitement this vacation will bring, it also brings a tinge of sadness and a bit of guilt! As we take off to a far off land, 7 animals, not including fish or chickens, will wander through my house and wonder what happened to their routine! OK, 4 of those animals are cats and are probably not even going to notice we’re gone unless the food bowl empties before it can be refilled! Dogs, on the other hand, are creatures of habit! I’m reminded of that any morning I try to NOT take Duke for a walk! The mere mention of the word sends him into a tail wagging frenzy toward the front door! (Who says dogs don’t understand English?)


Sure, I have 2 legged children old enough to ‘take care’ of the 4 legged children and, deep down, I know they will do a fine job! Still, all I see in those eyes are the words ‘Please don’t leave us!’. As they lay quietly on the couch, I wonder if they are dreaming of chasing after us on our way out the door as their paws twitch and their muffled barks barely squeak out!

20121009-213406.jpg

While away, I will wake up each day missing the morning walk I DON’T have to take and wonder how much they are missing me, knowing they are still sleeping tucked warmly in their beds; more than likely not even realizing the time we will be away! I’m sure I will miss them more than they miss me!

SO, although I am extremely excited to take this trip, I am just as excited to return home because there is just no better welcome home as one that is given by a dog, or two, or three!!!!

One response »

  1. There is nothing like the “welcome home” of a dog. I was gone for 4 nights last week, and although the other members of my household were still there, when I arrived home, the greeting I received was one of pure joy from my dog. šŸ™‚ Enjoy your trip, try not to miss them too much, and enjoy the “welcome home” you receive!

Leave a Reply

