Don’t be a chicken eater…

Standard

About 3 years ago, my son decided to get chickens so that he didn’t have to buy eggs anymore.  He is getting into all this zombie apocalypse, prepper stuff lately. Or maybe it’s just wanting less to do with corporations or government anything and just be a self sufficient human being! My husband decided to jump on that bandwagon! City girl that I am, my first thought was ‘I may be able to eat the eggs but if you want me to eat that meat, it better come back to the house on styrofoam wrapped in plastic!’  Before you read any further, we haven’t slaughtered a chicken yet!  Keep reading, I don’t see it happening!

Look what we started with!!!

DSC_0109

Obviously, I’m an animal lover!  Needless to say, I fell in love with the ‘chick-i-poos’!!

IMG_2266IMG_1826

They’ve become my chickie girls!  I love watching them run around the yard, scratching the ground looking for bugs, grabbing fruit or veggies that I throw in the yard for them and even eating my hostas.  Even though every country song tells you that’s what ya do when you’re bored; I think it’s hilarious to watch them.  They come as soon as they hear my voice thinking they are gonna get some goodies, probably because they usually do.

BUT, that’s not the reason why I started writing this post.  This is a dogs blog…my Duke LOVES chicken just a little too much!!!

IMG_4307


They say dog training is a never ending process and I can vouch for that!  Duke was 4 or 5 when we got our first chicks.  I should have known the chirping would drive him nuts because he destroys squeaky toys in seconds!  I will forego all the gory details but three chickens later, my Duke can stay in the yard with the chickens BY HIMSELF!!!  (Delilah too but she never cared about the chickens)! It took quite a bit of walking around the yard with him on leash and the chickens fluttering about clucking away until he learned what proper behavior was but he is now a chicken friendly dog!  I even had to teach my husband that Duke was NOT going to eat a chicken because every time they were in the yard together, Duke wanted to chase them.  He had it in his mind that Duke was gonna get a chicken and he was just waiting for it to happen; inevitably, it did!  His energy was setting Duke up for failure!!!

Back to the never ending training process:

2015-08-27 10.09.59

This little munchkin LOVES chickens too!

SubstandardFullSizeRender

You wouldn’t think that a 14-ish week old puppy, or maybe I didn’t think he would, but he caught one!!!!  No damage done, just a tired husband, an excited puppy, a freaked out chicken and a foster momma back on the chicken training path.  He is a pretty quick learner and a good boy so it didn’t take him too long to get what I wanted.  The rest of the training will be up to his new mom and dad though!

2015-09-01 15.40.27

2015-08-31 15.36.05

2015-08-27 09.46.00

2015-08-27 09.14.07

2015-08-31 18.50.09

Not only am I finished with my part of fostering this pup but he has already also found his forever home WITH friends of the family so I will be able to see him again and again!!!  Probably a good thing; he reminded me of Duke in more ways than just chicken eatin’. He quite possible could have been a foster failure!!!!

Leave a Reply

